sums against such debentures. All the Commissions are under the direct inspection of an official of the Marine Department and are subject to the jurisdiction of the Minister of Marine and Fisheries in all matters.

The following harbours are administered by a Commission, the date of the Act under which each Commission received its present constitution and powers being given:—Montreal, 1894; Quebec, 1899; Three Rivers, 1882; Toronto, 1911; Hamilton, 1912; Belleville, 1889; Winnipeg and St. Boniface, 1912; Vancouver, 1913; New Westminster, 1913; North Fraser, 1913. The harbours of North Sydney and Pictou, Nova Scotia, were formerly under the Commission form of administration, but the legislation providing for Commissions in these harbours was repealed and all property and rights held by the Commissioners were revested in His Majesty by legislation passed in the years 1914 and 1920, respectively, repeal being effective from the 1st of January following in each case.

## NATIONAL GALLERY.

The National Gallery of Canada was the outcome of the establishment in 1880 by the Marquis of Lorne and H.R.H. Princess Louise of the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts, which required the elected Academicians to deposit their diploma pictures in the National Gallery at Ottawa. The collections of pictures, statuary and other works of art now occupying premises in the Royal Victoria Museum in Ottawa consist of purchases made by means of the annual grants voted by the Dominion Parliament, the diploma works of the members of the Royal Canadian Academy and gifts and loans by persons interested in art. In 1907 an Advisory Arts Council of three members was appointed by authority of an Order in Council, and in 1913, under the National Gallery of Canada Act (3–4 Geo. V., c. 33), the Advisory Arts Council was constituted the Board of Trustees for the management of the National Gallery and the administration of its annual grants.

In addition to the care and management of the National Gallery, the Act imposes upon the Board responsibility for "the encouragement and cultivation of correct artistic taste and Canadian public interest in the fine arts, the promotion of the interests generally of art in Canada."

Amongst the collections of oil paintings now in the National Gallery are works by such old masters as Tintoretto, Caravaggio, Andrea del Sarto, Bartholomaus de Bruyn, Luca Giordano, Cima da Conegliano, Frans Floris, Chardin, Hogarth, Snyders, Daniel Mytens. The more modern schools include representative works by the great English masters: Reynolds, Hoppner, Beechey, Lawrence, Gainsborough, Millais, Leighton, Holman Hunt. The French masters include J. F. Millet, Edgar Degas, Claude Monet, Alfred Sisley and a number of others, while the contemporary British school is strongly represented by fine examples of the work of such artists as Arnesby Brown, Laura Knight, Glyn Philpot, W. Orpen, D. Muirhead,